To obtain a North Dakota non-driver photo identification card, you must visit one of the
ND Drivers License Sites.
You may obtain an ID card at any age. If you are at least 14 years of age and wish to be identified as a donor on your identification card, you may do so by signing the donor identification block on the application form.
Acceptable forms of identification are:
No photocopies. No hospital certificates. All documents must be original or certified copies only.
If your current name is different than the name on your identity document, you will need to bring additional proof of your legal name. Acceptable documents for proof of name change are a certified marriage certificate, a certified adoption document or a certified court order authorizing a name change (no photocopies, court seal required).
You will not be allowed to test or obtain a North Dakota permit, license, or non-driver Identification card without proper identification.
Applicants born in North Dakota may obtain a copy of their certified birth certificate by contacting Vital Records at the North Dakota Department of Health (visit www.ndhealth.gov/vital for details).
Applicants born in another state may access vital record offices through www.vitalrec.com.
As authorized by NDCC 39-06-07 and 39-06-03.1, all applications for permit, license, or identification card must contain the individualís social security number. Proof may be required by presenting one of the following documents:
Proof of North Dakota residence address (place of domicile) may be required by presenting two of the following documents.
Note: A parentís proof of address is acceptable for a minor child.
All documents must contain your name and physical residence address. Post Office boxes are NOT acceptable for residence address.
Only original documents and certified copies will be accepted. No photocopies. A court order or government issued marriage certificate is required for a name change. Several documents may be necessary in the event there has been more than one name change since birth.
|If you possess a ND Driver's License||$8|
|Renewal of an ID card and you possess a ND Driver's License||$8|
|If you do not possess a ND Driver's License||no fee|
|Renewal of ID card and you do not possess a ND Driver's License||no fee|
|Replacement of a lost, stolen or destroyed ID card||$8|
Any person who has lived in this state 90 consecutive days shall be deemed a resident of North Dakota for the purpose of non-driver photo identification card issuance. Proof of North Dakota resident address may be required. You must be a resident of North Dakota to obtain a non-driver photo identification card.