Landlord's Mobile Home Lien

Step One

Complete and submit <u>SFN 51269 Request for Vehicle Information</u> with the \$3 processing fee to determine/verify the current registered owner's name, address, and lien holder information (if applicable).

Step Two

A notice of lien must be posted on the primary entrance of the mobile home. The notice of lien must state/include the following information:

- The name and last-known address of the owner of the mobile home.
- The name and post-office address of the lien claimant.
- The amount of the lien.
- A description of the location and type of mobile home.
- A recitation of the penalty provisions of NDCC 35-20-17

A copy of the notice of lien must be mailed, by certified mail, to the registered owner and lien holder on record with the Motor Vehicle Division.

- The notice of lien must be mailed to the current address on record with the Motor Vehicle Division for the current registered owner.
- If the current address on record with the Motor Vehicle Division is different than the address on file with the mobile home park, then the notice of lien must be mailed to BOTH addresses. Or if the current registered owner is different than the individual who abandoned the mobile home at the mobile home park then the notice of lien must be sent to BOTH parties.
- If applicable, the notice of lien must be sent to the lien holder on record with the Motor Vehicle Division.

Step Three (if applicable)

- Contact the lien holder on record to obtain a lien release.
- <u>SFN 2876 Release of Lien by Legal Owner</u> may be used to fulfill the lien release requirement OR the lien holder may provide their own lien release.

Step Four

Submit the following documentation to the North Dakota Motor Vehicle Division:

- 30 days from the date the notice of lien was mailed/posted must have elapsed before title work can be submitted to The Division for processing.
- A copy of the results from the completed <u>SFN 51269 Request for Vehicle Information</u> verifying the registered owner information provided at the time the request was processed.
- <u>SFN 60662 Indemnifying Affidavit</u> completed and signed by the mobile home park releasing the State of North Dakota and its agencies from any and all liability.
- A copy of the notice of lien, the original certified mail form (to verify ship date) and the original certified mail return receipt (to verify receipt date/date, returned as undeliverable).
- If the notice of lien is returned as undeliverable submit the entire letter/envelope with the title work.
- Lien release (if applicable).
- <u>SFN 2872 Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle</u> completed in full, signed and dated. Title will be transferred into Landlord's name.

<u>SFN 3004 North Dakota State Board of Equalization Statement of Mobile Home Full Consideration</u> completed in full, signed and dated.

- Proof of legal name for the mobile home park as required by NDCC 39-05-05 Subsection l(f).
- Requirement may be satisfied by: Print out of most recent Secretary of State filing.
 - Copy of the top section of the most recent state or federal tax return filed in the name of the mobile home park.
- \$5 title fee.
- Any other documentation The Division may require, per NDCC 39-05-05 Subsection l(h).

Additional Information

- After the sale, the lienholder shall forward to the former owner any money resulting from the mobile home sale in excess of the amount owed to the lienholder for accrued rents, storage and removal relating to the mobile home.
- If the location of the former mobile homeowner is not known, any money from the sale in excess of the amount owed is presumed abandoned under chapter 47-30.1.