Divisions and Districts

Divisions and Districts

NDDOT Director

The NDDOT Director manages the entire department and is responsible for spending highway funds. By state law, the director's funding priorities are maintaining the existing highway system and matching all available federal aid for highway construction and reconstruction.

Deputy Director for Engineering

The Deputy Director for Engineering provides leadership and direction for all engineering services of the department, and directly oversees the eight districts in the state.

NDDOT Districts

The state is divided into eight districts. Each district is responsible for managing construction projects, performing roadway maintenance, mowing ditches, and keeping the roadways free of snow and ice in the winter.

Office of Operations

The Office of Operations is responsible for: Maintenance, Construction, and Civil Rights divisions.

Office of Project Development

The Office of Project Development is responsible for developing projects involving roadway design, bridge design, and all material requirements incorporated in those projects.

Deputy Director for Planning

The Deputy Director for Planning oversees all planning divisions and functions within the DOT, including planning & asset management, programming, local government, safety, and transportation program funding. This office also assists with state and federal planning-related legislation, budgeting and finance and help the department with strategic planning.

Deputy Director for Administration

The Deputy Director for Administration is responsible for the non-engineering administrative divisions.

Deputy Director for Driver Safety

The Deputy Director for Driver Safety is responsible for driver and vehicle services and safety.