# NMVTIS JSI DATA VERIFICATION

North Dakota Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle SFN 62551 (9-2024)

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION ND DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION 608 E BOULEVARD AVE BISMARCK ND 58505-0780 Telephone (701) 328-2725 Fax (701) 328-1487 Website: https://dot.nd.gov

Junk/Salvage/Insurance (JSI) data is reported to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) for Vehicle Identification Number:

VIN

The JSI Reporting Entity must complete this form, pertaining to the JSI data reported, so North Dakota (ND) can determine if title issued by ND will be Branded.

| Date Reported |  |
|---------------|--|
|               |  |

#### Section 1: NDCC 39-05-17.2

**1A.** Did the vehicle sustain body or structural damage\* from a vehicular crash or accident, including loss by fire, vandalism, weather, or submersion in water?

Yes - Proceed to Section 2.

No - Complete Question 1B.

\*The term damage does not include body or structural modifications, normal wear and tear, glass damage, hail damage, or items of normal maintenance and repair.

1B. If the vehicle did not sustain damage\*, please provide details regarding why JSI data was reported to NMVTIS.

#### Section 2: NDCC 39-05-20.2 & NDAC 37-09-01-02

**2A.** Does the damage\* equal or exceed the greater of \$10,000 or twenty-five percent (25%) of the pre-damage retail value of the motor vehicle as determined by the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) official used car guide?

Yes - Complete Question 2B.

No - Proceed to Section 3.

2B. Does the damage\* exceed seventy-five percent (75 %) of the pre-damage retail value of the motor vehicle as determined by NADA?

Yes - Complete Question 2C.

No - Proceed to Section 3.

2C. Explanation of Damage:

### Section 3:

| Name of JSI Reporting Entity   |                                   | Business Contact Phone Number |          |  |
|--|-----------------------------------|-------------------------------|----------|--|
| Reporting Entity Mailing Address                                     | City                              | State                         | ZIP Code |  |
| Printed Name of Individual signing on behalf of the Reporting Entity | Title of Individual signing on be | half of the Reporting Entity  |          |  |
| Signature  |                                   | Date                          |          |  |

Any person who makes a false statement on this form is guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor.

# INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE NMVTIS JSI DATA VERIFICATION

#### Section 1

**1A:** The Reporting Entity must verify if the JSI data was reported because the vehicle sustained damage\* by checking YES or NO to the question.

## If YES, proceed to Section 2. If NO, complete question 1B.

\*Damage is defined as body or structural damage from a vehicular crash or accident including loss by fire, vandalism, weather, or submersion in water, resulting in damage to the motor vehicle. The term damage does NOT include body or structural modifications, normal wear and tear, glass damage, hail damage, or items of normal maintenance and repair.

#### Section 2

**2A:** The Reporting Entity must verify if the damage\* is equal to or exceeds the greater of \$10,000 or twenty-five percent (25%) of the predamage retail value of the motor vehicle by checking YES or NO to the question. If YES, complete question 2B.

#### DAMAGE DISCLOSURE FORMULA

\*The amount of damage to a motor vehicle is determined by adding the retail value of all labor, parts, and materials used in repairing the damage. See NDCC 39-05-17.2 for further information on calculating the Assessed Damage of a vehicle.

| 1. Calculate 25% of the retail value of the vehicle at the time the vehicle was damaged.                  |  |  |  |
|---|--|--|--|
| 2. Which is the higher amount 25% of the retail value of the vehicle or \$10,000?                         |  |  |  |
| 3. What is the amount of the assessed damage?   |  |  |  |
| 4. The assessed damage amount must be greater than the higher amount from step 2 to be a damaged vehicle. |  |  |  |
| EXAMPLE 2   |  |  |  |
| 1. \$50,000 (retail value) X 25% = \$12,500   |  |  |  |
| er 2. \$12,500 OR \$10,000 = \$12,500 is higher   |  |  |  |
| 3. Assessed damage is \$13,000  |  |  |  |
| 4. Check YES on JSI Verification form   |  |  |  |
|   |  |  |  |

2B: The Reporting Entity must verify if the damage\* exceed seventy-five percent (75%) of the motor vehicles retail value by checking YES or NO to the question.

If YES, complete question 2C.

\*Vehicles damaged in excess of 75% may not be operated on ND highways unless they have been reconstructed and inspected by a business that is registered with the Secretary of State, is in good standing, and offers motor vehicle repairs to the public. (SFN 2486 Certificate of Vehicle Inspection) The business completing the inspection may not be the same business that reconstructed the vehicle. If a vehicle has been reconstructed, a certificate of title will be issued with a "previously salvaged" brand status. Salvage requirements apply to all model year vehicles and all brands must be carried forward regardless of the age of the vehicle.

#### Section 3

Reporting Entity information to be completed in full with Reporting Entity representative signing and dating the form.