District Office Addresses

Bismarck District Office

ND Department of Transportation
218 Airport Road

Bismarck, ND 58504-6003

Valley City District Office

ND Department of Transportation
1524 Eighth Avenue SW

Valley City, ND 58072-4200

Devils Lake District Office

ND Department of Transportation
316 Sixth Street South

Devils Lake, ND 58301-0817

Minot District Office

ND Department of Transportation
1305 Hwy. 2 Bypass East

Minot, ND 58702-1396

Dickinson District Office

ND Department of Transportation
1700 Third Ave. West, Ste. 101
Dickinson, ND 58601-3009

Grand Forks District Office

ND Department of Transportation
1951 North Washington

P.O. Box 13077

Grand Forks, ND 58208-3077

Williston District Office

ND Department of Transportation
605 Dakota Parkway West

P.O. Box 698

Williston, ND 58802-0698

Fargo District Office

ND Department of Transportation
503 38th Street South

Fargo, ND 58103-1198

(See map of districts on following page.)
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For further information contact:

Gregory F. Doll
Billboard and Property Management

ND Department of Transportation
Maintenance Division
608 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0700

gdoll@nd.gov
Phone: 701-328-2613
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What Does State Law Say?

Advertising structures cannot be erected on state
highway right of way and a permit is required for
all commercial advertising signs which can be seen
from the edge of the highway right of way. The
area selected to erect a commercial message sign
must be zoned either commercial or industrial,
which is generally near towns. (See Example 1.)

If there is no zoning in the area considered for sign-
ing, but there is an ongoing business activity adja-
cent to the highway that is also unzoned, the area
can be considered an unzoned commercial zone.
Therefore, any commercial signing can be placed
within 600 feet of the business in either direction
and on either side of the highway. Measurements
begin from the used portion of the business includ-
ing parking and storage areas. (See Example 2.)

Cities which use their extra territorial zoning
jurisdiction and zone beyond their city limits, must
use comprehensive zoning and not simply spot-
zone next to the highway for the sole purpose of
signing. In other words, the area must be zoned for
commercial activities, not just for the purpose of
erecting billboards.

In addition to zoning, there are spacing require-
ments:

Location Spacing of Signs
Interstate Highways ........... At least 500 feet apart

Federal and Primary Highways
(outside incorporated city limits) . . At least 300 feet apart

Federal and Primary Highways
(inside incorporated city limits) . . At least 100 feet apart

There are also size limitations and special legal
provisions depending on the type of sign (official,
directional, commercial, farm directional, or on
premise).

With the exception of commercial advertising
signs, all other signs are exempt from the permit,
permit fee, and strict zoning requirements.

This is only a basic overview of rules for outdoor
advertising in North Dakota. Signs cannot be
erected or exist unless state billboard laws are fol-
lowed, which can be explained further by the North
Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT.)

Example 1: Zoned Commercial or Industrial
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Example 2: Unzoned Commercial or Industrial
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How Do | Get a Permit for a
Commercial Advertising Sign?

If you have an existing sign or plan to erect one,
here’s what you need to do.

1. Contact the NDDOT district office. They can
determine if the location you want is legally
permitable. If it is, you’ll be given a permit ap-
plication.

2. Contact the landowner to get a verbal or written
lease. The landowner can simply sign the permit
application or write a simple lease agreement:

(name of person erecting sign) has the right to

erect a sign on my land at (location)

(landowner’s signature)

. Complete the permit application and return it to

the district office with a one-time permit fee of
$50 for the life of the sign. (See reverse side for
district office addresses.)

NOTE: Zoning status must be completed and
signed by proper zoning authority.

. The district office will mail permit and fee re-

ceipt to sign owner after approval is made.

. Contact your local city or county officials to see

if they have any regulations in regards to erect-
ing your sign.

. The department will accept a conditional second

party permit and will retain the permit until

such time a permitted sign is installed or the
initial permit installation period expires. Upon
expiration of the initial one-year time period, if
no sign is installed under the initial sign permit,
the first party will be notified of the revocation
of the sign permit, and the second party will

be notified of the acceptance of the conditional
sign permit pending the submission of the sign
permit fee. Should the first party install the sign
in accordance to the initial permit and within the
required time frame, the second party condition-
al permit will be returned with notification of the
reasoning i.e. sign spacing etc.
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