Is DISTRACTED DRIVING worth $100?
Learn about the new ND Distracted Driving Law

Learners Permit

Learners Permit

Apply for a Learner’s Permit

  1. ND Drivers License Site, apply in person at one of the locations.
  2. In order to obtain a North Dakota Learners Permit, you must be a resident of North Dakota and provide proper proof of identity and lawful presence.
  3. Complete an application. All North Dakota applications require you to provide your physical North Dakota address.
  4. All applications for permit, license, or identifications card must contain a social security number.
    Social security numbers will be verified with the Social Security Administration.
    Social security numbers, however, will not be used as the driver license or identification card number.
  5. Successfully complete the Rules of the Road knowledge test.
    An Online Study Guide is available.
  6. Successfully complete a vision screening.
  7. Anyone under 18 will require a sponsor’s signature for approval and financial liability prior to issuance of a learner’s permit.

Ages 14-15 Licensing Requirements

Steps to Become Licensed

  • Must hold a valid learner’s permit for at least one year. (If you received a permit prior to January 1, 2012, six months)
  • An acceptable formal driver's education course must be completed.
  • Must complete 50 hours of practice driving in variable conditions. (Not applicable to those who received a permit prior to January 1, 2012)
  • Must successfully complete a road test through the State to become fully licensed.

Restrictions while Operating on a Learner’s Permit

  • Must be accompanied by a supervising driver.
  • May not operate an electronic communication device while operating a motor vehicle.
  • May only operate a vehicle owned by a parent, guardian, grandparent, sibling, aunt or uncle unless in a vehicle equipped with dual controls and accompanied by a licensed driver trainer.
  • May not have more passengers than the motor vehicle is designed to carry.
  • May not operate a motor vehicle between the later of sunset or nine p.m. and five a.m. unless licensed driver is in the front seat, or the vehicle is being driven directly to or from work, official school activity or religious activity.

Ages 16-17 Licensing Requirements

Steps to Become Licensed

  • Must hold a valid learner’s permit for at least six months.
  • Must complete a road test through the State to become fully licensed.

Restrictions while Operating on a Learner’s Permit

  • Must be accompanied by a supervising driver.
  • May not operate an electronic communication device while operating a motor vehicle.

Ages 18+ Licensing Requirements

Steps to Become Licensed

  • Must complete a road test through the State to become fully licensed.

Restrictions while Operating on a Learner’s Permit

  • Must be accompanied by a supervising driver.

What do I need to study?

In order to obtain a North Dakota Learner’s Permit, you will be required to successfully complete the Rules of the Road knowledge test.
ND Drivers License Sites contain copies of The Rules of the Road manual.
The Online Manual is also available.

The North Dakota Teen Drivers site is another helpful site for permit preparation.

Which languages are offered?

Our Non-Commercial Knowledge Test is offered in any of the following languages:

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Serb Croatian
  • Russian
  • Vietnamese
  • Arabic
  • Somali
  • Nepali
  • Turkish
  • Swahili

Automated American Sign Language and Audio Testing is available at the Fargo, Jamestown, Bismarck, Dickinson, Williston, Minot, Devils Lake , and Grand Forks drivers license offices.

How much does It cost?

Fees For ID Cards, Licenses, Permits, and Driving Tests.
Item Cost
Knowledge Test $5 per attempt (One attempt allowed per day)
Permit $15
Road Test $5

Where is the closest Driver’s License Site?

ND Drivers License Site, locations, days/hours of operation and phone numbers.